Little Red Hat

The last three weeks did not go according to plan which is why I’ve been missing for so long. Long story short I thought I was moving into a new place but the deal fell through so then it was a mad scramble to figure out a contingency plan. I keep realizing I accidentally put *insert item here* in storage but there is no way I’m going to get it out now so I’ll just have to make due or get another one. The Thanksgiving holiday has helped me decompress a bit though after all the chaos which is nice. Good food and good company can do wonders for one’s mood.

The one birding-related plus out of all of this is that I get to now routinely watch the feeders and see who comes to visit. The photo quality isn’t the best since it’s through a window but I was happy to catch a few of the visitors to our feeding set up. We have a veritable army of House Sparrows, House Finches and Dark-eyed Juncos that keep visiting us. I’m holding out for a visit from the Common Redpolls and Pine Siskins that are being reported in the area but so far no luck. Snowy Owls are already down here from the Arctic which is crazy so I’m going to have to make a point of going out and trying to find another one to take pictures of.

I finally caught one of the resident woodpeckers visiting which I was very pleased about. Mr. Downy Woodpecker hammered away at the presumably frozen suet for awhile. I do really enjoy his little red hat – it amuses me.

DSC_0023

DSC_0025

Leave a Reply

